Remember this?

I think I’ve mentioned that ECT screws with my memory. In fact, in my case it has totally destroyed it. Of course, I strongly believe that the benefits far outweigh the inconvenience associated with loss of short-term memory, but that doesn’t make it any less annoying.

Last year, during a visit to my General Practitioner, I had to provide an update of all medications I was currently taking, as the list had changed drastically since starting ECT and seeing her last. She was entering my changes into her laptop and asked,

“Are you still taking Aricept”?

I replied that I had no idea what Aricept was, but I knew for certain I wasn’t taking it. I didn’t remember ever having taken it.

She was nearly hysterical with laughter, and because I automatically assumed she was laughing at me, I was immediately offended. “What the hell?”, I asked her.

“You can’t remember that you were taking Aricept”.

“So what? I don’t remember a lot these days…..”, I snarled.

“Your ECT doctor gave you Aricept to help with your memory. It’s commonly prescribed for Alzheimer’s patients”.

Oh. OK. That’s pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

