I’m FINE. Really

I just heard the best acronym for “FINE”.  My therapist asked me this afternoon how I was doing, and I replied in a monotone voice that “I’m fine”.  It’s my standard response.  It covers a fairly broad spectrum of emotion for me and the person to whom I’m replying typically doesn’t sense the sarcasm that accompanies that particular response.

So, I told her “I’m fine”, and she asked if I was familiar with the acronym.  Nope, I just knew my own definition of the word, which usually didn’t match up with the dictionary version.

F.I.N.E.    Fucked-up  Insecure  Neurotic  Empty

Yep, that about covers it.  I love it.

2 thoughts on “I’m FINE. Really

    • Yeah, I was given the choice between “Empty” and “Emotional” for the “E”, but since I am incapable of being both at the same time, I went with how I was feeling when I wrote it. Empty. But it’s good to know that I can interchange the two adjectives with free will!

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

