“In My Room”

I have always been a huge fan of the Beach Boys.  I love that most of their songs seem to be about girls, surfing or cars, or a combination of all three.  However, I recently googled “songs about bipolar” and was surprised to see one of the Beach Boys’ biggest hits on that list:  “In My Room”.

Maybe I was surprised because I guess I always thought that the song was about a teenage boy and masturbation……

Anyway, here are the lyrics so you can decide for yourself:

“There’s a world where I can go and tell my secrets to
In my room, in my room
In this world I lock out all my worries and my fears
In my room, in my room

Do my dreaming and my scheming
Lie awake and pray
Do my crying and my sighing
Laugh at yesterday

Now it’s dark and I’m alone
But I won’t be afraid
In my room, in my room”

3 thoughts on ““In My Room”

  1. Brian Wilson, the creative genius behind the Beach Boys (who wrote the song “In My Room”) battled Bipolar for years. The song, of course, is more universal than the diagnosis. It’s a wonderful piece of poetry that works on many levels.

    I used to listen to it after a girl would turn me down on a date, wallowing in self-pity.

    Thanks for reminding me. 😉

    • I’ve seen the Beach Boys FIVE times in concert and had the good fortune of meeting Brian Wilson at a restaurant in Santa Barbara 20 years ago. I’ve known by heart the lyrics to that song for 30 years, but never once knew anything about their meaning or about Brian Wilson’s bipolar disorder until I wrote this piece.

      I love your term “creative genius” because that is a coupling of words that I often hear when reading about famous people with bipolar disorder. I’m learning that many people I meet or hear of suffering with bipolar are of above-average intelligence and typically extremely creative in the arts.

      Again, thanks as always for your thoughtful comments.

      • I don’t know how substantiated Wilson’s diagnosis is. I only know that when I was first diagnosed with Bipolar (in 1995), he was on the list of celebrity “who’s who” with the disorder. Of course, some of the lists speculate about historical figures who lived long before the era of the DSM.

Leave a Reply

